With the main race season over, the next event in the calendar for the club were the annual awards evening. This was held on Friday 25th November, where the majority of the members and parents turned out for the event. Due to Ivan being otherwise engaged, Nathan Johnson, our junior coach, was the MC for the night and did a grand job of entertaining us.

We started off with a roundup of the clubs successes for the year, from Roland Lawler, with acknowledgement to our GB paddlers that took part in the junior and senior sprint World Championships and Marathon World Championship. Although the beginning of the year wasn’t as outstanding as previous years the club rallied around and ended the season by winning the Hasler trophy,  at Bedford. This was accomplished by a small crew of 30, mainly made up of junior paddlers, a prime example of quality over quantity!

Hopefully we can repeat this win next year.

Next were the awards from the coaches for their groups. Each coach selects a person or persons that they feel have achieved the most out of their paddling, whether it is successes, dedication, commitment or determination.

Those presented with cups were:-

Di & Dianes Group       Georgia Phillipou

Pams Group                Rebekah Solway and Rebecca Williams

Nathans Group            Ross McMullen

Rolands Group            Kayne Wilkinson

The Hawkins Cup        Kellie Archer and Wendy Piercy

Service Award             Last but not least, our annual award to one of our dedicated volunteers. This year’s winner was our retiring treasurer, Pat Cain. Pat has been a meticulous treasurer, always on hand to keep us organised on the financial front, always ready to check us out on what we had overlooked.  Many thanks for her long service.